Resources & Publications
What's New Event
Edwin Parr Nominee for 2019 - Dustin Ledsham - posted until - Apr 07,2019


Holy Spirit Catholic School Division is proud to announce that Mr. Dustin Ledsham, a first year teacher at Catholic Central High School in Lethbridge, has been selected as the division's Edwin Parr nominee for 2019. The Edwin Parr Award recognizes excellence in teachers beginning their professional careers.

"Dustin is a great choice as Holy Spirit's Edwin Parr nominee," states Deputy Superintendent Brian Macauley.  "Not only does he have some great intuitive teaching skills working with diverse groups of students, but he also puts in the effort to find multiple methods to engage his students in their learning, making difficult concepts accessible.  His work ethic will take him a long way as a teacher and will definitely serve our students."

Principal Joanne Polec agrees and adds, "Dustin demonstrates resilience and adaptability on a near-daily basis as he navigates complex situations calmly, discreetly, and compassionately.  He strongly believes in the importance of fostering positive relationships and his communications with parents and staff have quickly and easily established respectful working relationships. More than any of this though, it's his healthy and genuine interest in his students and their lives beyond the classroom that has the real impact."

"My passion for kids with exceptionalities comes from a very influential person in my life - my brother," explains Dustin. "He was diagnosed with autism and being by his side through the Catholic school system has driven me to give other students opportunities and abilities to help them in school, at home, and in the community. Inclusion is so important in our school system and all kids getting an opportunity to learn is my ultimate goal."

Mr. Ledsham's selection as an award nominee will be celebrated along with the other nominees from Zone 6 (Grasslands, Horizon, Lethbridge Public, Livingstone Range, Medicine Hat Public, Medicine Hat Catholic, Palliser, Prairie Rose, and Westwind) at an Awards Banquet on the evening of May 15, 2019 in Taber. Please join Holy Spirit in extending best wishes to Dustin Ledsham as he proceeds through the award selection process.


For more information about this press release, please contact:

Chris Smeaton, Superintendent of Schools
St. Basil Catholic Education Centre
Phone: (403) 327-9555


For printable release




Copyright © 2008 Holy Spirit Roman Catholic Separate Regional Division No. 4