Resources & Publications
What's New Event
Children of St. Martha School Received 2018 Betty Grigg Inclusive Education Award - posted until - May 05,2018

Holy Spirit Catholic School Division is pleased to announce that Children of St. Martha School, in Lethbridge, has recently been recognized by Inclusion Lethbridge (formerly known as the Lethbridge Association for Community Living) for their "2018 Betty Grigg Inclusive Education Award."  The award recognizes and honours a school in southern Alberta that demonstrates a high commitment to providing an environment and culture of inclusion for all students.

According to Kareena Zanolli, the primary nominator, "Children of St. Martha School is a beautifully diverse school.  The diversity and uniqueness of each student is not just accepted but often celebrated, both culturally and academically.  Students growth is very much assessed and celebrated individually."

"Being recognized as a Betty Grigg recipient is a blessing for our entire school community," states Principal Shannon Collier. "The staff of Children of St. Martha School show a genuine appreciation and respect for all of our children while encouraging and embracing each of their God given potential. This has long been a part of our school's culture, and as such, is celebrated through this honorable award. We are truly humbled!"

Adds Superintendent Chris Smeaton, "It's truly part of our Catholic mission to be open and welcoming to all of God's children.  I'm so pleased to know that the staff of Children of St. Martha School are living out this mandate and showing our students what Faith in action looks like."

Inclusion Lethbridge plans to formally honour the school at the, "Denim & Diamonds Dinner, Dance & Auction," event they are hosting on Saturday, May 5, 2018.



For more information about this press release, please contact:

Chris Smeaton, Superintendent
St. Basil Catholic Education Centre
Phone: (403) 327-9555

Shannon Collier, Principal
Children of St. Martha School
Phone: 403-381-8110

Printable version of this press release

Copyright © 2008 Holy Spirit Roman Catholic Separate Regional Division No. 4